IU Kokomo faculty earn promotions, tenure

Written on 07/08/2024
Danielle Rush, Communications Specialist, Indiana University Kokomo

Five instructors advance in light of their educational efforts

The Indiana University Board of Trustees has approved promotion and/or tenure for five faculty members on the Kokomo campus.

Scott Jones, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, commended the faculty members.

“IU Kokomo holds its faculty to the highest standards,” he said. “Promotion and tenure are awarded to recognize faculty excellence, as demonstrated by their many contributions and achievements throughout years of employment. We congratulate these faculty for all they have done for our students, our state, and their disciplines.”

Those receiving promotions include:

Lance Mason, professor of education. He joined the faculty in 2013. Mason earned a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction: language, culture and society (social studies), with a minor in social thought from Penn State University; a Master of Arts (M.A.) in Social Foundations of Education, cultural studies track from Eastern Michigan University; and a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Sociology and a BA in Psychology from the University of Michigan. Awards and honors include the Senior Faculty Scholarship Award, the IU Kokomo Distinguished Research and Creativity awards, the MOSAIC Faculty Fellowship, and the Trustees Teaching Award.

Stephanie Medley-Rath, professor of sociology. She joined the faculty in 2014. Medley-Rath earned a Ph.D. in Sociology and an M.A. in Sociology from Georgia State University, and a BA in Sociology from Southern Illinois University. Awards and honors include the Claude Rich Excellence in Teaching Award and the Trustees Teaching Award. She has served as chair of the sociology department.

Rosalyn Davis, clinical professor of psychology. She joined the faculty in 2013. Davis earned a Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology from Ball State University, an M.A. in Counseling from the University of Texas, San Antonio, and a B.A. in Psychology with a minor in biology from Fisk University. She is director of the Master of Arts in Mental Health Counseling program, Awards and honors include IU Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Luminary Awards (inaugural recipient), Amicus Award for Resident Faculty, the Virgil Hunt Distinguished Service Award, Racial Justice Research Grant, and the Chancellor’s Diversity Award.

James Carter, senior lecturer of mathematics. He joined the faculty in 2018. Carter earned a Ph.D. in Mathematics from Purdue University, a Master of Science (M.S.) in Mathematics from Wright State University, and a B.S. in Mathematics from University of Pittsburgh. He also worked as a knowledge engineer at Ke Labs Inc., served in the faculty senate, was coordinator for general education and mathematics major assessments, and was a judge for the Howard County Science Fair and the FIRST Robotics state championships.

Those who were promoted and received tenure include:

Christina Romero-Ivanova, associate professor of education. She came to IU Kokomo in 2015. She earned an Associate of Arts in General Studies, Liberal Arts, from Clovis Community College; a B.A. in English with a minor in history from Eastern New Mexico University; a Master of Science in Education from IUPUI; and a Ph.D. in Literacy, Culture, and Language Education, with a minor in Anthropology from IU. Awards and honors include the Community Teaching Award from the Faculty Academy Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching (FACET), the Junior Faculty Research Award, the Trustees Teaching Award, and the Virgil Hunt Distinguished Service Award.

Education is KEY at Indiana University Kokomo.